Berlin | Long Trip | Day 1

Finally I’m going to Berlin! For my journalism study we had to work on a subject in a foreign country. The options were Berlin, London and New York. I’ve already been to London and New York was too expensive, so I choose Berlin. Besides that I always wanted to go to Berlin, because of the interesting history and culture.

So on Sunday I packed my little suitcase (It’s a miracle it would close with all my clothes and other stuff in there). My parents took me to the train station. I arrived early so I had to wait for a couple of minutes before the train would arrive. For this week I had to choose a subject for my articles. Our main theme was respect and diversity. A perfect subject for Berlin, because you find this back throughout the whole city. I’ve always been interested in the alternative scene. So I decided to do it about the punk culture and the reason why punks became punk. A really interesting subject which is really popular in Berlin.

The train arrived and we all searched for our seat. I was actually really tired, because I didn’t sleep well the night before. I don’t mind travelling by train. The view is really beautiful and I had some time to relax. Too bad the train was delayed by an hour. This part made it a little bit worse.

When we arrived in Berlin we had to travel a bit longer to get to the hostel. We stayed in Friedrichshain, one of the districts in Berlin. In this district you can find the East Side Gallery and the Oberbaumbrücke, which connects the east and west side of Berlin. Besides the food and drinks are really cheap in this district. The first night I went to a pizzeria with two other girls and I only had to pay four euro’s for a Hawaiian pizza! After dinner we decided to go to bed because we were exhausted from the long train trip.

image (2)

Leave a Reply

